Tuesday, November 3, 2009

SPK "Zamie Lehmanni: Songs of Byzantine Flowers"

SPK formed in 1978 in Sydney, Australia, was a 1980s and early 1990s industrial music and noise music group. SPK stands for many names. Probably, the most important of them all, that influenced two members of the band, Graeme Revell and Neil Hill, was Sozialistisches Patientenkollektiv. This album that I'm reviewing is about the post-industrial SPK, more commercially oriented (however, I consider this album to be an exception, since it isn't as synthpop-ish as "Machine Age Voodoo", the previous album). This one is more about electronic orchestral work: it can also be labeled as contemporary classical ambient.
The track list is the following:
  1. "Invocation (to Secular Heresies)" - 5:16
  2. "Palms Crossed in Sorrow" - 5:05
  3. "Romanz in Moll (Romance in a Minor Key)" - 4:15
  4. "In the Dying Moments" - 6:41
  5. "In Flagrante Delicto" - 7:31
  6. "Alocasia Metallica" - 6:07
  7. "Necropolis" - 5:29
  8. "The Garden of Earthly Delights" - 3:18
  9. "The Doctrine of Eternal Ice" - 4:25
My favourite tracks are: "In the Dying Moments", "In Flagrante Delicto", "Necropolis" and "The Garden of Earthly Delights". The album's lenght is 48 minutes and 10 seconds.
The song "In Flagrante Delicto" is marvelous and features angelic vocals, backed up by haunting and obscure dark ambient sounds.
You can get the album here.

As a preview to this album, try hearing "In Flagrante Delicto" below:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails