Wednesday, October 28, 2009

Burzum "Hlidskjalf"

This album was composed by Varg Vikernes, Burzum's frontman, while he was in prison due to: the murder of Euronymous, former guitarist of Mayhem; and the arson of several churches in Norway. It was released in 1999. He made this entire album only by using synths. It's marvelous, seriously...
The track list is the following:
1. "Tuistos Herz" (Tuisto's Heart) 6:13
2. "Der Tod Wuotans" (The Death of Wotan) 6:43
3. "Ansuzgardaraiwô" (Warriors of Asgard) 4:28
4. "Die Liebe Nerþus'" (Nerthus' Love) 2:14
5. "Frijôs einsames Trauern" (The Lonesome Mourning of Frigg) 6:15
6. "Einfühlungsvermögen" (The Power of Empathy) 3:55
7. "Frijôs goldene Tränen" (Frigg's Golden Tears) 2:38
8. "Der weinende Hadnur" (The Crying Höðr) 1:16

My favourite tracks are: "Ansuzgardaraiwô", "Der Tod Wuotans" and also "Frijôs goldene Tränen". The album's lenght is 33 minutes and 42 seconds. It was released on the label entitled Misanthropy.
The album can be downloaded here. This is a great album, one of the best dark ambient albums I've heard lately.

Below, as a preview, you can hear "Ansuzgardaraiwô":

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails